Around Lake Michigan

Monday August 20, 2018

Home to Griffith, 58 Miles



Left home around 8am. Stopped for lunch at McDonald's in Chesterton. Heavy rain near Hobart Indiana, stopped under a shelter at Robinson County park to avoid downpour. Diner at Wildrose Brewery, pub burger and garlic fries. Back tracked a little bit to warm showers spot, camped in the side yard, more rain during the night.


Tuesday August 21, 2018

Griffith to Wrigley Hostel - 40 miles

Cloud Gate
Breakfast at Burger King in Griffith. Stopped along the way at Trader Joe's, Cloud Gate (The Bean) and REI. Diner at Cozy Noodles and Rice, Thai Chicken and Rice.

Wednesday August 22, 2018

Wrigley Hostel to Cliffside Park Campground, Racine - 73 miles
Winnetka
Evanston
Racine
Left Hostel approx. 7:00am, took Clark Street north from Wrigley Field to Evanston, then Chicago Ave., & Sheridan through to downtown Winnetka. Had pedals replaced at Green Bay Cycles in Winnetka. Stopped for Coffee then picked up the Green Bay Trail near Glencoe, then the Robert McClory trail at North Chicago and on through Kenosha and Racine.

Thursday August 23, 2018

Racine to Kohler-Andrae state park, Sheboygan - 78 miles
Milwaukee
Kohler-Andrae state park
Ozaukee Interurban trail north from Downtown Milwaukee. Met Vince near Cedarburg WI, he was riding a fat tire bike up ahead of me and slowed down to chat. Said he recently retired and was planning a three week tour in Germany near where he was stationed in the military.

Friday August 24, 2018

Sheboygan to Devils River Campground, Maribel - 51 miles

Devil's River Campground

Saturday August 25, 2018

Maribel to North Bay Shore campground, Oconto - 72 miles
Green Bay


Sunday 26, 2018

Oconto to Peshtigo - 8 miles





Monday August 27, 2018

Peshtigo to Escanaba - 71 miles
Menomonee River

Sand Point Lighthouse, Escanaba



Tuesday August 28, 2018

Escanaba to Manistique - 50 miles


Manistique Light House


Wednesday August 29, 2018

Manistique to Brevort Lake - 72 miles
Hog Island Campground
Brevoort Lake Campgound




Thursday August 30, 2018

Brevort Lake to Cheboygan - 42 miles


Bridge Authority, $5 lift across the straights



Friday August 31, 2018

Cheboygan to Wolverine - 32 miles
Cheboygan
My Son joining me




Saturday September 1, 2018

Wolverine to Ostego Lake Campground, Gaylord - 27 miles
Otsego Lake County Park




Sunday September 2, 2018

Gaylord to Indian River, Gaylord to Mancelona - 56 miles
Dead end road, whoopsie




Monday September 3, 2018 (Labor Day)

Mancelona to Reed City - 83 miles
Kalkaska Shoe Tree
Cadillac
Rambadt Park - Reed City
Multiple Flat Tire day, 5 total.

Tuesday September 4, 2018

Reed City to Grand Rapids - 74 miles
Big Rapids
Grand Rapids
Flat tire, noticed the tire was we inside around the puncture hole, covered the inside of tire with duct tape. Stayed at AirBNB in downtown Grand Rapids., the host was a young mother with two small children. Walked to market for diner, Meijers store with all self check out lanes.

Wednesday September 5, 2018

Grand Rapids to Glenn - 54 miles
West Michigan Bike & Fitness
Holland
Saugatuck
Pier Cove


Thursday September 6, 2018

Glenn to Home - 68 miles
camp @ 6am
Roadside Park
S.B. Chocolate Cafe - St. Joseph
US Bike Route 35



18 days, 17 nights, 1005 miles



kmz files